Governing Boards

Room with long tables lined with many chairs

KCPL Board of Directors

The Kanawha County Public Library Board of Directors approves and generates administrative and fiscal policies and approves program direction within the constraints imposed by legal and funding requirements. The Board is the ultimate decision-making body of the Library and uses the information and recommendations from all internal and external sources to see that the Library provides a full range of services while remaining within its financial and operational capabilities.

The board is made up of 18 members representing various areas of the County as well as the City of Charleston. The members of the Board are appointed by the Kanawha County Board of Education, which takes into consideration recommendations from the Library. The Board usually meets the second Monday of each month.

Interaction and/or communication between the Board and staff members is provided through the Library Director. The Director serves as Secretary/Treasurer.

Erika Connelly, Library Director

Kanawha County Public Library
Attn: Erika Connelly, Library Director
123 Capitol Street
Charleston, WV 25301

2023 Meeting Schedule

Date Day Event Location
Jan. 9 Monday Regular Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV
Feb.15 Wednesday      Regular Meeting     Main Library, Charleston, WV
March 13 Monday Regular Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV
April 10 Monday Regular Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV
May 8 Monday Regular Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV
June 12 Monday Regular Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV
July 7 Friday Annual Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV
Aug. 14 Monday Regular Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV
Sept. 11                Monday Regular Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV
Oct. 9 Monday Regular Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV
Nov. 13 Monday Regular Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV
Dec. 11 Monday Regular Meeting Main Library, Charleston, WV

The KCPL Board of Directors meets on the second Monday of every month at 4:00 p.m. Exceptions include February's meeting on Wednesday, February 15, and the yearly annual meeting, which is tentatively scheduled for Friday, July 7.

KCPL Budget

FY 2023 (PDF)

Current Members

President: Benjamin Thomas
First Vice President: Stephanie Haden
Second Vice President: Betty King
Library Director & Secretary-Treasurer: Erika Connelly

John Auge
Dr. Mickey Blackwell
Christopher Erlewine
Angela Gould
Jason L. Holliday

Thomas J. Hurney
John Jarrett
Kevin Johnson
Larry Moore
Angelia Russell


Susan Shumate
Anne Silbernagel
Dr. Ken Sullivan
Cynthia Tawney
Dr. Robert Wallace


Branch Advisory & Governing Boards

President: Angie Freyberg
Vice President: Rick Owens
Secretary: Melissa Preston
Treasurer: Tina Hall

  Christina Belt
  Butch Cottrell
  Midge Forwood
  Betty Sue Harper
  Sue Shafer

President: William Peckol
Vice President: Monica Burdette
Secretary: Pat Skeen
Treasurer: Chris Connell
Financial Secretary: Paul Gebhard

  Jane Lowen
  Brenda Witt

President: Vacant

  Cynthia Dye
  Carolyn O’Brien
  Sierra Sovine
  Francine Wiley
  Benita Calloway
  Laura Garner
  Betty Painter

President: Elizabeth Belcher
Vice President: Bob Hiser
Secretary: Cynthia Jo Tawney
Treasurer: Trudy Bonnett-Fragale
Teen Member: Noah Sergent

  David Aleshire
  Mickey Blackwell
  Anna Campbell
  Nina Darnell
  Dorothea Fuqua
  Marty Kibler
  Sandra Martin
  Tina Stodola

President: Joan Shaffer
Vice President: Barbara Jones
Secretary: Debbie Rolston
Treasurer: Diane Slaughter


Mary Bonham
Bobbie Coon
Jane Davies
Conner Decker
Danny Decker
Cathy Hammack
Carolyn Reed
Louise St. Clair
Mike Summerlin

Board Chair: Dale Withrow
Vice Chair & Facility Chair: Tom Cloer
Recording Secretary: Naydeen Wolf
Treasurer & Teen Chair: Vicki Tawney 
Membership Chair: Cay Hoh
Program Chair: Becky Goodwin
Garden Chair: Sandy Foster
Book Sale Chair: Henry Bono
Publicity Chair: Mary Treen
Friends Chair: Debbie Duvall

  Sarah Carper
  Andy Spradling

President: Robert Fields
Secretary: Ruth Brother
Treasurer: Gertrude Legg

  Sharon Dye
  Karen Humphrey