Image of light bulbs on string; text reading "Ideas are born in libraries. Donate Today."

Looking to assist the library in providing great events, classes, materials and online resources? Donating to KCPL is a great way to give back to the community. Donation opportunities include supporting our Annual Fund and donating gently-used books and other materials.

Annual Fund Donations

Donate Online

Click the button below to donate now online.

Donate by Mail or In Person

We accept cash or check at any KCPL library location. Checks may also be mailed to:

Kanawha County Public Library System
c/o Marketing & Development
123 Capitol Street
Charleston, WV 25301


Donate Stocks

Stock or bond transfers may be handled by your broker. Please contact Marketing & Development by email or by phone at 304-343-4646 ext. 1363.

Book & Material Donations

Please see our Gift Acceptance Policy for additional qualifications and guidelines regarding these donations.

Donate Gently-Used Books

We can accept donations of used books and other materials at any of our KCPL locations. Though we cannot appraise the value of your donation, we will provide a receipt. Please refrain from donating textbooks, encyclopedias, magazines, or VHS tapes.

Title Adoption Program

Commemorate a person, group, occasion, or milestone by adding a title to the library’s collection for $25—the average cost of a hardback book. We will purchase specific titles, authors, or subjects as requested. Book plates can be placed in most materials to identify your gift.

Additional information and application available for download.

thank you

THANK YOU to all who have contributed to the 2023/2024 Annual Fund:

Victoria Adkins
Mike and Laura Lee Albert
Tim Alderman
Sunya Anderson
John P. Auge
Margaret Bailey
Ellen and Victor Bastron
Robert and Shon Beury
Mrs. Carter V. Blundon
Evan Buck
David Bungard
Becky Calwell
Jack Campbell
Nancy and Steven Canterbury
Catherine Caudill
Stan Cavendish
Mike and Nancy Chaney
George and Annette Cipriani
Mike and Dale Clowser
Bryan Cokeley
Mary and Lionel Craddock (2)
Susan Kay Churchill
Rosalie Earle
Terrell Ellis
Helen B. Epps
Joseph Ertl
Denise Ferris
Patricia and Randall Force
Daniel S. Foster
Foundation for Appalachian Kentucky, Inc.
Samme Gee
Keith George
Janet R. Gerwig
Cookie Glasser
James Goalder
Donna Goldberg
Mr. and Mrs. Robert F. Goldsmith
Mr. and Mrs. Michael R. Graney
Larry Groce
Jeanne Grubb
Stephanie and Edward Haden
Ryan Hagerty
Martha M. Hall
Jane Ray Halpin
Ray and Hedda Haning
Cynthia A. Harris
JoAnn and Ronny Harris
Richard H. Hess
Thomas A. Heywood and Melody A. Simpson
Susan M. Haupt
David and Susan Hill
Dr. Tzongwen Edgar Huang
Tom and Julia Hurney
Betty S. Ireland
Mary B. Jenkins
Mr. and Mrs. Douglas W.R. Johnson
Mary Johnson
Robert A. Johnston and Margaret N. Palmer
Angela Jones
Sara Joseph
Kathryn J. Kay
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas N. Kellam
Peg Kenyon
Virginia and Art King
Ann M. Knebel
Priscilla P. Lawson
Bertha L. Lindau and Stanley Gutman
Mr. and Mrs. Charles M. Love
Bob and Millie Lynn
Martha MacCallum
Carla McClure
Marilyn McGeorge
Callen J. McJunkin
Donna McNeely
Harry B. Mills
Roger W. Mitchell
Carol J. Mollohan
Julia Morton and Mary Leslie Morton
James Olson
Bob and Ann Orders
Charis Parsons
PayPal Giving Fund
Ronald G. Pearson and Beth High
Jane Paulsen
PayPal Giving Fund
Lea Anne Pinney
Dave and Laura Pray
Mary Ratliff
R. Terrance Rodgers and Karen Speidel Rodgers
Frances M. Rollins
Rotary Club of Charleston
Melissa Rubin
David and Gale Rubrecht
Frances Saldanha
Pankaj Sarin
Karen M. Scherr
Daniel Schuda
Julia Shalhoup
Deborah Sink and Robert McLusky
Lola Smith
Stuart Lewis Smith
Sam Sommerville
Debby Sonis (2)
David and Betty Stern
Joan Steven
Ken and Debra Sullivan
Mary C. Summey
Louisa Swift and John Levin
Rosalie L. Taylor
Francine Thalheimer
Benjamin Thomas
Jennifer Thomas
Bonnie G. Tincher
Theodore Traube
Michael Victorson
Richard B. Walker
Jean Ellen Wallace
Ken Ward and Elizabeth Wehner
Dawn Warfield
Susan K. Watkins
Steve and Laura Wehrle
Stephen Wellons
Steve and Linda Wilson
Christopher and Ann Winton
Todd Witsberger
Woman’s Club of Charleston
Adrienne Worthy (2)
Beverly P. Wright
Kenneth C. Wright
Todd R. Wright

Carol Casto
Melissa Cowden
Kelly Curry
Jennie Ferretti
Susan Haddad
Ruth Joseck
Neva Lusk
Sallie McClaugherty
Dina Mohler
Patricia Moyers
Danita Nellhaus
Julia Robinson
Jane Beattie Shepherd, in honor of Elizabeth Fraser
Jane Beattie Shepherd, in honor of Otis Laury
Anne Silbernagel
Jo Ellen Yeary

Edward and Joyce Baker, in memory of Robert E. Douglas
Matthew W. Brown, in memory of Marty Glasser and in honor of Cookie Glasser
Evan Buck, in memory of Robert E. Douglas
Charleston Light Opera Guild, in memory of Robert E. Douglas
Timothy and Marilyn Divita, in memory of Robert E. Douglas
Sally Iadarola, in memory of Robert E. Douglas
Diana Long, in memory of Robert E. Douglas
Frances A. Meredith, in memory of Robert E. Douglas
Ruth Vanderwilt McVey, in memory of Mr. and Mrs. C.J. Vanderwilt and Mary Ellen Vanderwilt
Peyton Law Firm, PLLC, in memory of Robert E. Douglas
Nina R. Peyton, in memory of Sandra Davis Thomas

F.M. Davis Family Fund
Lejeune-Farley Fund
Robert Lawson Fund
Mr. and Mrs. Eric Nelson Fund

Branch libraries located in unincorporated areas of Kanawha County are asked to raise a portion of their operating expenses. Our THANKS to the following donors who directed their Annual Fund contribution to these branch libraries:

Betty L. Jones
Cammie Parker

Gail Alford
Frank and Joyce Andrews
Larry R. Behner
Suellen Bottorf
Bill and Faith Bragg
Dennis and Marilyn Byrnside
Rose Cooley
Melba J. Farley
Mr. and Mrs. J.E. Fischer
John A. Fleek
George J. Freebersyser
Paul and Barbara Gebhard
Martin L. Grimm
William Haynes
Sandra L. Havely
Brenda Hoover
Debbi Huddleston
Irene Jonathan
Jack and Norma Justice
John and Linda Lacaria
Janet Lawson
Jane Lowen
Lois A. Ludwig
Lisa A. Mazzei and Phillip C. Prince, in memory of Charmaine Mazzei
Jack McClanahan
Mark and Teresa McCormick
Becky McLaughlin
Jennifer Meeks
Walter R. Mitchell
Ronald Raether
Ann Neidlinger
Nelle Ratrie Chilton Charitable Trust
Linda C. Nicholson
Mr. and Mrs. Gary M. Orr
William R. Peckol
The Pianfetti Foundation
Robin J. Woodson
Frances V. Shropshire
Minerva Sneed
Frank and Sally Snyder
Jo Stapleton
Lois R. Thompson
Carolyn Titcher
Kathy Vogelaar
Kenneth and Jerre Watkins
Betty Watson
Mr. William R. Whyte and
Dr. Cassandra B. White
Karen S. Williams

Oliver Arbogast
Anna and Kenneth Bailey
Elizabeth Belcher
Rose G. Campbell
Angela Cavender
Connie J. Crede
Jo Ellen Dean-Wagoner
Richard Fauss and Debra Basham
Geraldine T. Foy
Dorothea Fuqua
JoAnn Jones
Melissa Kelley
Teresa Koon
Al and Carol Kuhlman
Brenda Mace
Frank and Joyce Mash
Velma Mitchell
Brooks A. Mullins
Nelle Ratrie Chilton Charitable Trust
David and Louise Peelle
C.E. Penn
Edith T. Phillips
Kathleen Rushworth
Nancy R. Smeltzer
Debby Walker
Ronald L. Warren
Benita Y. Whitman
Joyce Williams

Dianne Allport
Barbara Cook
John and Donzella Fleck
Angelia Frazier
Kelly Harmon
Nelle Ratrie Chilton Charitable Trust
Stephen Rumbaugh
Mr. And Mrs. James E. Singleton, Jr.

James G. Adkins
Thomas Auman
Austin Construction Co.
Jerry L. Barker and Lynne S. Schwartz-Barker
Jeanne B. Barnhart
Rethia Bumgardner
Nova C. Casto
Nancy Cunningham
Gary D. Facemyer
Charles and Tracy Gary
Michael G. Godwin
Margaret Golden
Jeffrey Hall
Betty Jane Harper
Jonnie R. Jones (2)
David A. Joplin
Lisa Godwin Insurance Agency, Inc.
Shirley E. McGraw (2)
Mr. and Mrs. William Miller
Katheryn Monk
Tom and Linda Morgan
Agnes Lenora Moriarty
Nelle Ratrie Chilton Charitable Trust
Niterra North America, Inc.
Yvonne Povick
Debbie Rolston
Dr. and Mrs. David A. Santrock
Glenda Sisson
Sissonville Lions Club
Sherry A. Stump
Deloris Warner
Lala Wiley