Linda G. Wright Award

For Excellence in Library Service

2021 Awardee: Steve Mills

As KCPL's Facilities Technician, Steve is described by his coworkers as dependable, knowledgeable, diligent, and enthusiastic. In 2021, Steve stood out as a leader, taking the lead in multiple projects -  including the creation of a list of facilities concerns for each KCPL branch, and worked diligently to address those concerns. He also coordinated a Main Library transition project, cataloguing the availability of furniture available for KCPL branches and nonprofit organizations.

Steve is helpful and courteous, and displays outstanding internal customer service. His attention to detail results in jobs that are accurate and well-done. Steve’s willingness to go above and beyond what is asked of him makes him a well-deserved winner for 2021.

Steve received the award at KCPL’s annual Staff Development Day on April 27, 2022.

Previous Awardees

2020: KCPL Staff
2019: Michelle Ross
2018: Nina Bess
2017: Gary Turpin
2016: Linda Brumfield
2015: Henry Pickens
2014: Pat Abbot
2013: Terry Wooten
2012: Craig Lefteroff
2011: Susan Saylor
2010: Mike Burgess
2009: Toni Blessing